Kari Shoolbraid won the invitational 800m run on Saturday.

Track & Field

Several Top-5 Performances Turned in on Final Day at Meyo

Feb. 8, 2014

Final ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

SOUTH BEND, Ind. - The Boilermakers wrapped up the Meyo Invitational on Saturday and set a handful of top-five program marks in the process. The Old Gold and Black won 10 events during the two-day meet.

On the women's side, Kari Shoolbraid shattered her personal record, which was 2:09.58 from earlier this year, in the 800m run en route to taking the top spot. The senior ran a time of 2:07.90 to win by 0.20 of a second. Shoolbraid's time ties for the second-best mark in program history with Brooke Woodruff from 2006. Sophomore Vanessa McLeod is the school record holder with a time of 2:05.21, which came at last year's Big Ten Championships. BreAnna Smith also ran a PR in the event, as she finished ninth with a time of 2:10.58.

A pair of Boilermakers advanced to Saturday's finals in the 60m dash. Twyla Winfrey posted a 7.60 seconds time to finish fourth overall, just 0.11 of a second off the top time. Devynne Charlton was the other Boilermaker in the final and finished sixth with a time of 7.71 seconds. Both women ran personal records on Friday and moved into the program's all-time top six.

Charlton also made the finals of the 60m hurdles, with teammate Ciana Tabb. Tabb finished fourth in the finals with a time of 8.53 seconds, while Charlton took fifth just thousandths of a second behind Tabb, as she showed an identical time.

Aarin Jones just missed her PR in the 400m dash. Jones posted a fourth-place time of 55.15 seconds, just 0.11 of a second off her career best. Her time from Saturday would rank sixth in program history, while her PR is fifth in Purdue lore. Jones finished exactly two seconds behind the winner, Michelle Brown of Notre Dame. Brown's time is sixth-best in the nation.

The women's 4x400m relay team was very impressive at the end of the meet. The team of Jones, Taylor Morrison, Smith and Shoolbraid posted a time of 3:41.10 to hold off Illinois by one hundredth of a second. Shoolbraid opened it up, after running the 800m earlier in the day, and gave Purdue a solid lead. Jones was next and held Purdue's lead going into the third leg. Morrison ran a strong leg, but the Boilermakers fell back to second behind Western Michigan. Smith took the baton and darted the Boilermakers out to solid lead with 100m to go. That's when Illinois made its move, but in the end Smith was too strong and held on for the Purdue win.

Cierra Brown posted a PR in the triple jump, en route to a fourth place finish. Brown leapt 12.72m (41-08.75), a personal best by half an inch. Michigan State's Tori Franklin won with a leap of 13.39m (43-11.25), a mark that ranks third in the country this season. Brown's mark is the 20th best in the country, and fourth-best in Purdue history. Nikki Nunn had a huge PR in the event and finished seventh. Nunn finished with a mark of 12.34m (40-06.00).

On the men's side, Raheem Mostert advanced to Saturday's 60m dash finals after posting the top time in the semifinals. Mostert ran a career-best race and won with a time of 6.73 seconds. That time is the fourth-best in Purdue history and currently sits tied for 33rd in the country. It is the second-fastest time in the Big Ten this year, though he beat the conference's top runner, DeVantre Whitelow of Michigan State, in Saturday's finals. Mostert also competed in the 200m dash Saturday and tied his personal best in the race. The junior ran a time of 21.27 seconds, which ranks fourth in Purdue history, to finish second, just 0.06 of a second behind the winner.

Andrew Cartwright was the first Boilermaker on the track Saturday and he set the tone for the day. Cartwright competed in the 3,000-meter run and finished with a winning time of 8:37.10. The Purdue sophomore held on to beat Indiana State's Taylor Head by 0.02 of a second. Matthew McClintock ran in the championship 3k race, the Ryan Shay 3k. The Boilermaker sophomore ran a personal best and just missed the program record, as he finished third with a time of 8:06.79. The Purdue record is 8:06.39 held by Donnie Fellows from 2002.

Brandon Winters and Andre' Peart were in the 60m hurdles finals after qualifying through on Friday. Winters took second place with a time of 7.91 seconds, as he was out-leaned at the finish line by Kent State's William Barnes, who finished in 7.87 seconds. Peart took sixth with a time of 8.05 seconds. Kyle Campbell had a solid afternoon in the pole vault. He cleared a few bars, including 4.95m (16-02.75), which earned him a second-place finish.

The Boilermakers return to action next weekend when the host the Fred Wilt Invitational. The meet is scheduled for Saturday at 10 a.m.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned