Women's Golf

Golf Channel to Feature Dye

May 2, 2013

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Golf Channel will air a segment on Pete and Alice Dye at approximately 3 p.m. ET on May 9 and 10 as part of its coverage of the Players Championship.

The 2013 Players Championship will be contested from May 9-12 at TPC Sawgrass, designed by the Dye duo and recognized as one of the most difficult courses in the world. The course is known for its signature hole, the par-three, 132-yard 17th, simply known as the "Island Green."

Pete Dye received the 2003 Old Tom Morris Award from the Golf COurse Superintendents Associate of America, their highest honor. In 2005, he became the sixth recipient of the PGA Tour Lifetime Achievement Award, and he was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2008. He has been awarded a Doctor of Landscape Architecture degree from Purdue.

An accomplished amateur golfer in addition to her prowess as a designer, Alice Dye is known as the "First Lady of Golf Architecture" in the United States. The Indianapolis native was a 1970 U.S. Curtis Cup Team member and won the U.S. Senior Women's Amateur in both 1978 and 1979.

She has been a member of the USGA Women's Committee, the LPGA Advisory Council and a member of the Board of Directors of the Women's Western Amateur, which has honored her with its Woman of Distinction Award. In 2004, she was honored with the PGA's First Lady of Golf Award.

The state of Indiana proudly lays claim to having more Pete Dye-designed courses than any other place in the world. The Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex is part of the Pete Dye Golf Trail, a collection of his courses in the state of Indiana intended as both a showcase for the golf traveler and a tribute to the golf visionary.

Kampen is rated one of the top collegiate courses in the nation and has been awarded 4.5 stars on Golf Digest's "Places to Play." The course has played host to a number of prestigious collegiate and public tournaments, such as the 2000 Men's Big Ten Championships, the 2003 NCAA Women's Championship, the 2004 Indiana Open, the 2005 Women's Western Amateur, the 2008 Men's NCAA Championship and the 2011 Men's Big Ten Championships.

Print Friendly Version